OCN NI Level 4 Award in Modern Languages

OCN NI Languages Qualifications

The OCN NI suite of qualifications in Languages aims to provide an opportunity for accreditation in language skills.  Learners benefit from improved communication skills in both vocational and social contexts and may also expand cultural knowledge. Learning a language also enhances career opportunities. OCN NI language provision covers a range of languages including Arabic, French, German, Irish, Italian, Japanese and Spanish.

 OCN NI Languages at Level 4

The modern language qualifications at Level 4 will be offered in French, German, Italian and Spanish. Each language will cover the main skills areas of Reading, Listening, Speaking and Writing. They offer learners who have achieved a Level 3 or equivalent qualification the opportunity to enhance and progress their skills in preparation for employment, further and/or higher education and in a social context. Being proficient in a second language will help learners compete in a growing, global market.

Modern Languages Pathways

There are four separate pathways available for the OCN NI Level 4 modern language qualifications. They are:

 ®     French

®     German

®     Italian

®     Spanish

When the qualification has been achieved, the certificate will show the chosen language pathway in brackets, eg:

          OCN NI Level 4 Award in Modern Languages (Spanish)


Qualification Code
Review date
Min age
Click here for more information