Image for news article

Learning Endeavour Awards 2021 Shortlist Announcement


The awards shortlist includes nominees from all over Northern Ireland and covers categories such as Third Sector Learner of the YearFE Learner of the YearSchools Learner of the Year and Inspiring Tutor/Teacher of the Year. This year, a new category, Advancing Learning Through Innovation, was added to recognise how organisations have transformed the delivery of qualifications throughout the Covid-19 pandemic. 

Entries to the 2021 awards have been record-breaking, so to make it onto the shortlist is quite an achievement, explained Martin Flynn, CEO of OCN NI: “This year is officially our biggest ever awards with almost 200 entries.

“We are genuinely thrilled at the fantastic response and the calibre of entries is extremely high so well done to everyone who has made it onto the shortlist”, said Martin. 

Due to Covid-19 restrictions, the Awards will be screened live online, but that has not stopped OCN NI from ensuring everyone watching at home, in their offices or at school, is entertained. 

Martin continued: “Covid-19 restrictions mean we can’t do an in-person event to celebrate our nominees’ achievements. The past year has been really challenging for learners and their teachers. So, we designed this year’s awards to not only recognise everyone’s accomplishments but added a little fun to the proceedings.  We asked radio presenters, Jordan Humphries and Steve Turnbull to host the ceremony and there are some hilarious surprises for everyone watching live online. 

“We’ll also be announcing the recipient of the prestigious, Hilary Sloan Learning Endeavour Award from one of our shortlisted winners, who will receive a £1,000 learning bursary.  So, best of luck to everyone who has made the shortlist and I look forward to revealing who the winners are on June 2nd.”, concluded Martin.

We look forward to announcing the winners at our Awards ceremony live on Facebook and YouTube on Wednesday 2nd June 2021. 

Further Education Learner of the Year

  • Emad Hazaea, Belfast Met

  • Jordan Robinson, People 1st

  • Patrick Anthony Bradley, North West Regional College

  • Rodney Scullion, Southern Regional College

  • Samantha Kerrigan, Clarity Consultancy NI

  • Savanna Duffy, Northern Regional College

  • Shane Green, Belfast Met

  • Sophie Kirkpatrick, Belfast Met

Third Sector Learner of the Year

  • Aaron Savage, NOW Group
  • Beverley Farry, AMH
  • Chauntelle Coleman, Orchardville
  • Diane Huston, Supporting Communities
  • Elaine McMahon, Sally Gardens
  • Kathryn Tilson, AMH
  • Pierrette Koffi Mel, Start360
  • Ryan Stevenson, Advantage Foundation Ltd
  • Sharon Bann, AMH

Schools Learner of the Year

  • Adam McFeely, Bogside and Brandywell Health Forum
  • Adam Pearson, Craigavon Senior High School
  • Alex Parfitt, EOTAS Loughs Road Learning Centre
  • Caolan McCrum, Lismore Comprehensive School
  • Dylan Buchanan, Strabane EOTAS
  • Joseph McFlynn, St Patrick's College, Maghera
  • Shannon O'Rourke, St Patrick's College, Maghera

Health & Well-being Learner of the Year

  • Ben Quigley, Education Authority
  • Beverley Farry, AMH
  • Eoin Millar, EOTAS Loughs Road Learning Centre
  • Karen Phillips, UTS
  • Kathryn Tilson, AMH
  • Louise Smith, AMH
  • Noel Hutchinson, Start360
  • Roberta Wadey, AMH

Inspiring Tutor/Teacher of the Year

  • Ed Hanna, UTS
  • Graham Bowden, Tree NI
  • Jackie Roberts, Dunlewey Addiction Services
  • John Morgan, Belfast Trust
  • Martin Farrell, St Marks High School
  • Nicole McKee, Belfast Met
  • Nikki Partridge, The Advantage Foundation
  • Ronan McCaffrey, Start360

Advancing Learning Through Innovation

  • Advantage Foundation Ltd
  • Belfast Met
  • Fermanagh and Omagh District Council ASPIRE
  • MGS Consulting
  • Sally Gardens
  • South West College
  • Start360
  • Wellington College Belfast

Advanced Education • Awarding Qualifications

Let's get started.

Request a Callback